Doni – Button Masher – Chillout VGM from GameChops

GameChops has released a full-length video game remix album dedicated to chill-out and house mixes of classic NES and SNES titles. Produced by Doni, a Canadian musician living in Taiwan, Button Masher Remastered includes updated and polished versions of his most notable video game tracks from the past decade. The album includes a brilliant remix of Stickerbrush Symphony from Donkey Kong Country 2, along with a tongue-in-cheek remix of Pokemon’s famed Lavender Town Theme, to a progressive re-imagination of Final Fantasy X’s Mt. Gagazet.

Download this album on Loudr, iTunes, Amazon, or Google Play.

This isn’t Doni’s first project with GameChops, the record label focused on licensing video game remixes. In 2012, Doni released a five track EP entitled Goombette, a tribute to Super Mario RPG. Doni’s love for Nintendo in the NES and SNES era is strong, eight of the ten tracks on Button Masher Remastered are remixes from Nintendo games.

Doni boasts a uniquely old school style, using hardware synths to craft his sounds rather than software. Fans of classic electronic music or classic video games are in for a treat, Doni favors dynamics and balance over hard-hitting leads, giving Button Masher Remastered a distinct and  refreshing sound.

The album is available today world-wide, download on Loudr, iTunes, Amazon, or Google Play.

Button Masher Remastered Tracklist
01 Try Hard (Donkey Kong Country 2 – Stickerbrush Symphony)
02 Icy Strings (Secret of Mana – A Bell is Tolling)
03 Midnight Mass (Pokemon Red/Blue – Lavender Town)
04 Mario’s Garage (Super Mario Kart – Rainbow Road)
05 Hard to Choose (Mega Man 3 – Stage Select)
06 Impending Something (Marble Madness – Stage 2)
07 Staring Off (Final Fantasy X – Mt. Gagazet)
08 The Bubbledrone (Mega Man 2 – Bubble Man)
09 Nostalgic Tides (Chrono Cross – Dream of a Shore)

Button Masher Remastered features the compositions of David Wise, Hiroki Kikuta, Junichi Masuda, Soyo Oka, Takashi Kumegawa, Yasuaki Fujita, Brad Fuller/Hal Canon, Masashi Hamauzu, Takashi Tateishi, and Yasunori Mitsuda.

Download Doni – Button Masher Remastered on Loudr, iTunes, Amazon, or Google Play

Post a Comment!